December 31st- January 15th 2023 100% Saudi Arabia

Robby Gordon will NOT be competing.

Saudi Arabia is +8 hours on Eastern Time / +11 on the West Coast.

December 31st, the Rally Raid starts in Sea Camp, Saudi Arabia and races North than South East before racing to North to the city of Dammam.

More info as more info becomes available.
All DAKAR postings will be in this thread.

Views: 2751

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Stage 1, Sea Camp to Sea Camp
Liaison > 234 km - Special > 367 km

Solid Stage 1 for the Americans on motorbikes

Bikes and Quads Top moments - Stage 1


Three penalties for speeding have been handed down following stage 1, with Joan Barreda receiving one minute and Daniel Sanders and Pablo Quintanilla two apiece. As a result, Ricky Brabec is the new stage winner by 44 seconds over Kevin Benavides and Mason Klein, who ended up on the podium too. Daniel Sanders slips to sixth place, 2′50″ back

Good for Ricky

When the 2022 Dakar and World Rally-Raid champion, Sam Sunderland, shows up for a race, you know it is going to be either a big hit or a big flop… and his tenth Dakar turned out to be a flop! The British rider started the stage in 22nd place and posted the fastest time at the first checkpoint, 37 kilometres into the race, only to take a tumble another 15 kilometres down the road. Conscious and mobile, but suffering from back pain, he was flown to Yanbu, where he was diagnosed with a broken shoulder blade. "SunderSam" has failed to finish the Dakar six times since his debut in 2012, but he has secured a podium spot whenever he has managed to complete the race, including two wins (2017 and 2022). 20% of victories, 20% of podium places and 60% of withdrawals is still an impressive track record.

Interview of the day presented by Aramco - Stage 1

Stage 1 cars
Interestingly the T3 UTV's are also included in the car scoring

Cars Top moments - Stage 1


Mattias Ekström ended up crumbling in the face of Carlos Sainz and Sébastien Loeb's late onslaught. The Swede will have to settle for third place, behind the Frenchman, who prevented an Audi 1-2. Sainz started the special on the back foot, but his never-say-die attitude carried the day and handed him his 42nd Dakar stage win.

T3 UTV's


Austin Jones crossed the finish line of today's special almost 3′30″ off the fastest time, confirming "Chaleco" López as the victor of stage 1. This is his first stage win since 2021. Despite taking the race outright last year, the Chilean was unable to stop Seth Quintero from hoovering up virtually every stage.

Oscar Fuertes Aldanondo Crash

Extended highlights of the day presented by Aramco - Stage 1


© 2024   Created by TOG.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service